How to Use Heat, Light & Sweat to Improve Your Mental Health (Interview with Connie Zack, Sunlighten Sauna Founder)

Dr. Caroline Leaf
5 min readAug 26, 2020

If you have been following me for a while, you will know how much I love my infrared sauna from Sunlighten! It is an integral part of my mental and physical health regimen, my favorite place to do brain research and detox my mind, and something I cannot live without. In this week’s podcast, Connie, the founder of Sunlighten Saunas, joininfraed me to discuss why infrared heat is so good for us and why it makes us feel so good, the difference between infrared and conventional saunas, the best way to use an infrared sauna, common mistakes we make when using infrared saunas, infrared saunas and children, the incredible science behind Sunlighten’s saunas, and so much more.

What is an infrared sauna? The light spectrum in an infrared sauna comes from the sun. It heats the body directly, whereas a conventional sauna only heats the air around the body. Although any kind of heat in a sauna can be good for us, infrared heat directly impacts our health, working naturally with our body to supercharge our cells without tiring us out or draining us. This allows for maximum detoxification and purification; in fact, an infrared sauna is seven times more effective than a conventional sauna at getting rid of toxins in the brain and body!

There are many benefits to an infrared sauna, including:

1. Detoxification.

--

--

Dr. Caroline Leaf

Mental health expert. I have spent the last 30+ years researching ways to help people manage mental health issues in school, work, and life: drleaf.com